Antarctica is an icy, intriguing wonderland full of wildlife, scientific treasures and stunning geography. This giant continent covers over 14,200,000 km2! Antarctica’s size means there are many different areas to explore. It can also create confusion when trying to determine which Antarctica cruise best suits your interests.

Below we highlight the 6 main regions of the Antarctic that most cruises explore. Visit each destination page to see what it offers travellers and which specific itineraries, or departure, explore these regions.

Antarctica Destinations

Antarctic Peninsula

The Antarctic Peninsula is the most accessible from South America. Over 95% of our Antarctica Voyages include the peninsula.

Polar Circle

The Polar circle, known as the Antarctic Circle, runs at 66°33′48.8″ south of the equator. Some adventures claim you must cross the circle to officially explore Antarctica! When we refer to voyages that visit the Polar Circle as a destination, we mean cruises that aim to cross this line.

Ross Sea

The Ross Sea is even more remote than the South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands. Most voyages including the Ross Sea are a minimum of 28 or 30 days.

Falkland Islands

The Falkland Islands, or Islas Malvinas, offer a unique history and biodiversity. Over 63 land bird species, including the albatross, call the islands home.

South Georgia

A visit to this remote island requires a longer voyage. Occasionally, a special cruise departure may include stops at the South Sandwich Islands and South Orkney Islands as well. They are a must visit for wildlife lovers – King Penguins, Elephant Seals, land birds and more abound.

Weddell Sea

The Weddell Sea is the jumping off point for most voyages that include a visits to observe the ultimate Antarctic wildlife – the Emperor Penguin.

Did You Know…during the winter months Antarctica experiences a Polar Night? This means the polar circle receives no direct sunshine a few months each year!

Handpicked Antarctica Voyages

See All Voyages…